What my Summer Looked Like

So now that I’m totally working backwards…here are some major life moments from the Summer 2013.

My First Benefit.  In the non-profit world, benefits and large-scale fundraisers are one of the main avenues for gaining support (and money) for your organization. We had a huge event in the Hamptons that consumed most of my summer. It was all worth it because we raised a YEAR of operating budget and can continue teaching underserved children about fitness and nutrition. Chilling with celebs wasn’t so bad either.

Co-workers and best friends!

Co-workers and friends for life!

Weekend trips! As some of you may know, my beach house and neighborhood was severely damaged in Hurricane Sandy. Instead of being miz all summer about this, I took it as a chance to explore other summer destinations I’d never been – like Fire Island, Montauk, and the Hamptons. All beautiful spots…. still love Jersey more.

Fire Island and their Rocket Fuels - extra strong pina coladas - were summer highlights!

Fire Island and their Rocket Fuels – extra strong pina coladas – were summer highlights!

My 24th birthday. This was the first birthday that felt semi-old to me. Maybe it was the absence of a “real” summer and one working my butt off on #1. But I love my birth…week? So I took to celebrating with a great dinner at my favorite NYC restuarant, Bagatelles, with my guy. I followed that up with a rooftop party in my building that I hosted for me and my best guy friend, Phil. We did a “Midsummers Night Dream” theme, and I even hired a bartender using gigsalad.com. So affordable and made my party so chic! Complete with a Dream Dry waterfall braid, we danced and drank our signature cocktails all night long. We rounded the weekend out with drunch (drunk brunch) and I think I’m still recovering, two months later.

If you go to Bagatelles, get yourself that sundae. It's what dreams are made of.

If you go to Bagatelles, get yourself that sundae. It’s what dreams are made of.

Appropriate for a 24th birthday party, no?

Appropriate for a 24th birthday party, no?

My bestie and I - we're a day apart!

My bestie and I – we’re a day apart!

Lots of Barre and Yoga. I work for a gym, so I have the luxury of having my basic fitness necessities (weights, treadmills, ellipticals) for free. So, I joined Exhale Spa, and spent the summer doing my two favorite workouts I normally don’t do: Core Fusion Barre and Cardio, and unlimited yoga classes.

You make it to an 8 AM barre class when you have to wear $14 dollar socks to participate.

You make it to an 8 AM barre class when you have to wear 14 dollar socks to participate.

Family Trip to Bermuda. By the time these good times rolled me on into August, I was ex-haust-ed. Me and my family went on a week-long vacation to Bermuda and I swear it felt so good to relax, work out at my leisure, eat yummy food, and shop! What a great end to one terrific summer.

Planted myself here for five days straight!

Planted myself here for five days straight!

Such a beautiful island, and so close to NYC! I may just have to sneak away again soon.

Such a beautiful island, and so close to NYC! I may just have to sneak away again soon.

What were some of your summer highlights? 

Leave a Reply

